Skip to main content

Seven European countries pledge to reach a CO2-free power system by 2035

Seven European countries, namely Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Luxembourg, the Netherlands and Switzerland (non-EU), have pledged to reach a CO2-free power system for 2035 by eliminate emitting power plants from their electricity systems. Together, the countries account for about half of the EU’s power production, due to the fact that the pledged includes Europe's two biggest power producers, Germany and France.

The countries intend to jointly plan the development of infrastructure to ensure the construction of enough grids and energy storage and to help integrate large amounts of low-carbon power into their networks, which are already strongly interconnected. The EU plans to decarbonise the near totality of its electricity system by 2040, thanks notably to the development of renewable energy infrastructure across the continent.

Power plant tracker

Interested in Power Plants?

Enerdata has developed a market research service to screen, monitor and analyse the development of power generation assets.

Power Plant Tracker offers an interactive database and a powerful search engine covering power plants worldwide – including both installed and planned capacities for renewables and fossil fuels.

Request a free trial Contact us